Slow- Roasted Tomatoes

These tomatoes will be one of the best things you ever eat, I guarantee it. They are so good that I make them in giant batches at a time, and they’re still gone a couple days later. They are so good that I’ve written at least two poems that feature them, so good that I wish there were some way to mail little tupperware packages of them to everyone closest to me, because these are the most genuine, most satisfying kind of love letter- the kind of secret admirer code that is understood by every recipient upon first bite.

I came across a few different recipes for roasted tomatoes earlier this summer, and combined and tweaked until I found this recipe. Today, I bought up nine pounds of tomatoes from the market, and picked another pound from my garden, and roasted all of them. Some to make dinner for my boy tonight, some to welcome my twin home while I’m away in Baltimore this weekend, some for a very lovely friend there that I’m visiting.

Slow-Roasted Tomatoes

1/2+ cup olive oil
balsamic vinegar
2 lb tomatoes, halved lengthwise
3/4 tsp sugar
powdered garlic
salt and pepper

You can also add oregano to them if you’d like, which is the Italian way (Pomodori al Forno), but I personally don’t think it tastes any better.

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees, and fill 1-2 baking trays with your halved tomatoes, cut side up. Drizzle on olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Sprinkle powdered garlic, salt, and pepper over everything, and then, carefully, the sugar (you don’t need much of this, it may even be less than 3/4 of a tsp). Set the timer for an hour, and bake until it goes off.

Being careful not to tear them, turn the tomatoes over, and bake for another hour. Then turn them again. Keep baking this time until they are all very soft and a deep red color- the time depends on the kind and size of the tomatoes- usually for me, it is at least another 20-30 minutes.

Fill a bowl with the oily roasted tomatoes, and eat hot or cold. I think they’re better at least warmed. You can eat them with goat cheese, on bread, or plain, with a fork, right out of the bowl late at night. A great variation on the caprese salad is layering the tomatoes- as soon as they come out of the oven- with thin slices of mozzarella, and some fresh basil leaves. The cheese melted into the tomatoes is the perfect complement.This 2lbs of tomatoes recipe serves 6.

(After picture submitted by my uncle after he tried out the recipe.)

Meal Cost:
2 lb tomatoes, halved lengthwise- $2.00
olive oil- pantry
balsamic vinegar- pantry
3/4 tsp sugar- pantry
powdered garlic- pantry
salt and pepper- pantry

Total Calories:
2 lb tomatoes, halved lengthwise- 200
1/2 cup olive oil- 960
balsamic vinegar- 20
3/4 tsp sugar- 11.25

As this recipe serves 6, each serving is around 200 calories. If you buy the tomatoes at a farmer’s market, 2lbs of these deliciously slow-roasted tomatoes only cost around $2.00 to make! Pair it with a sliced up $1.00 fresh baguette, and you’re gonna be the dinner party favorite.

Questions? Comments?

2 responses to “Slow- Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Thanks for dropping by our blog. I’m definitely going to try this recipe later. But I definitely can’t get tomatoes that cheap, so it’ll have to be after the Food Stamp Challenge.

    • Yeah, project looks great! Fab idea. Trying to persuade the fam to sign on.

      Also, I’d only recommend this dish if starring real, fresh, summer tomatoes. Maybe you’re near a farmer’s market/stand. Or, they’re quite easily grown.

Leave Your Thoughts!

